Arthur Svensson nominations for 2017 are open

We hereby invite Norwegian as well as international unions to nominate candidates for the Arthur Svensson international prize for trade union rights.


Chair of the jury, Leif Sande, and the cambodian textile workers of C.CAWDU in 2012

Since 2010 the Svensson prize has been awarded to persons and organizations that has worked predominately to promote trade union rights and organizing around the world. Amongst the previous winners we find the teachers union in Bahrain, the Miners union in Mexico, textile workers in Cambodia and many others.

The nomination deadline is January the 1st 2017, but we encourage to start the nomination process as soon as possible. The nominees will be judged on at what extent the person or organization has promoted union rights and/or union organization in the world.

All employees and elected officials at all levels of both Norwegian and international unions (Affiliated with International Trade Union Congress or to the Global Unions) are welcome to propose candidates. As well are the past recipients of the prize and board members of organizations that have received the prize in the past.

We at the Svensson foundation believe that times of conflict, increasing inequality and stagnation in democratization must be met with international solidarity and union organization.

Without the strength of the international trade union movement these crisis can never be solved in a way that ensures social justice and basic rights for working people. In this spirit we continue to award the Arthur Svensson award to working class heroes every year. Working people deserve recognition.

To nominate a candidate please use this form.

Full list of previoous winners can be seen here.